Monday Morning Leadership

Posted on Updated on

leaves
Monday Morning Leadership is a book by David Cottrell about leading your team, cutting out the non-important things in your daily routine, and doing the right thing. I was given this book by Chris Knotts, Director of Enterprise Marketing at ASPE, Inc, and old friend of mine even before I took on a role at Knotts and Associates.

This book was an excellent read, outlining multiple ideas of leadership in 8 short sessions. It was very interesting to see the ideas represented in this book when looking back at my leadership training in the past (most recently the word “pity party” used in the ECGC leadership sessions. (you can choose leadership or ECGC from the tags menu to access all leadership training and ECGC articles at any time  🙂  ).

One of the most important things I took away from this book was the idea that you need to keep the Main Thing The Main Thing. And, surprisingly, the main thing for Wake Tech, the college I teach at, is 3 things:

  1. Provide the best, most comprehensive, and excellent programs that we can
  2. Provide our Students, Faculty, and Staff with the tools they need to succeed and excel
  3. Provide educated, trained individuals into the local community workforce

If we aren’t doing the first, we can hardly be doing the second. If we aren’t doing the second, there is no way we are doing the third.

I have actually read this book through twice, and I think I’ll read it again. Strongest revelation I found in this book: Being a leader is as far above being a manager as a manager is above a worker. This can easily be seen in terms of drivers and passengers in a car. The whole team is set on a direction, with a similar vision, but it is the leader’s responsibility to get them there. The passengers have the freedom to talk, listen to loud music, goof off, sleep, surf the web on their phones, but the driver has to get everyone to the destination safely, and preferably on time. The decisions the leader makes are different ones, and there is certainly more responsibility, but also the freedoms of the driver are reduced as well.

I will be reading this off and on to help with my leadership qualities. The author also recommends taking some time out to read other books on management and leadership. If you set aside a half-chapter a night devoted to leadership, you’re likely to get in a book a month- 12 a year. In 15 years, that’s about 150 books. Can I become a better leader simply by reading books and taking actions?

I think I’m willing to find out. – Tyler Dockery

 

