The Hunger Banquet

Posted on Updated on

HungerBanquet_85x11_WORLD_v11-copy-516x510

How much do you really know about how the world eats?

In this presentation at Wake Tech’s Main Campus at Noon by Lesley Graybeal and Wendy Clinton as well as Jo Anne Clayton and Kimberly Breivogel, we were able to see the world in a microcosm of wealth and poverty and how it affects food. We were each given a color card at the entrance to the room to determine our position. The card I received, as provided to the team by Oxfam America noted that I was a Low Income individual.

ADIS
I live in the rift valley of Ethiopia. My husband died and I have seven children to care for. Because of the drought in this area it is very difficult to get water foand food. My children are constantly ill. Recently I sold my last three goars. I hope things get better because I have nothing left to sell.

At first, individuals were moved from table to table as volunteers were asked for. Some went up, but others went down. One girl from the low table was given a half portion because of hardship in here area. Once we had settled down, we began talking about

High income people earned $6,300 yearly or higher. Medium income people earned $1,000 yearly or more. Low income earned about $3 or less a day. High income was given a full italian meal with bread, salad, pasta, drinks and desert. Medium table received several pizzas to share, roughly 1 for each 2 people. Low income people like myself were given a plate of beans and rice the size of the palm of my hand.

People in the high table said they were guilty feeling. People in the medium table said they wanted to give pizza to the low group. They didn’t. Low income people either felt unfulfilled or angry. I felt it was depressing and causing hunger, but not much new I could do about it.

We discussed how hard it was when people were looking at them eat. Medium table said that when a low-income person brought their food to the table to show what they were eating. we noted that the food in the face or closeness to the lower groups. It fostered conversations on power, philanthropy, the power of power and the difference between currencies and location. We talked about laziness and “bad person” connotations in the world related to giving.

In the end, we left filled with food, knowledge, or both.

